July 10 Questions….

I don’t know know where this started but I’ve seen it on both Zen Baby Horse and Viva Carlos so I thought I’d treat it as a blog hop!

1. Do you actually always pick the horse’s feet? Always? Really?

No.  Which is horrible considering my horse was retired from the track with white line. I do in the winter when he is more prone to thrush. But there aren’t many rocks at my new barn and picking feet is one of my least liked tasks.

nose

2. What is the biggest obstacle/reason preventing you from becoming a professional or competing full time with ease?

 

Money. Skill. Lack of confidence. Lack of desire.

Money is the easy one to define. Skill is something that can be fixed. I’m in a place now that my confidence in increasing.

But I have no desire to be a pro. Don’t get me wrong. Spending the day with my horse is awesome. Spending the day with horses that are naughty and not always that fun to ride. Not my idea of fun. It would be awesome to show more but I’d never want to be a pro and deal with all the crap that comes with it.

3. Do you think it will ever not be about the money?

It will alway be about money. Thats why horrible things happen to horses in some sports. But those of us at the lower levels know that you can’t put a dollar sign on what we do!

26710316532_6c975de30a_k4. Was there ever a horse that you loved and really wanted to have a connection with, but it just never panned out?

A little quarter horse named Birdie that I rode in a western class in college. She was a cute older cutting mare (and wow did she still know her job) but we just never connected.

5. What is one weakness in your riding that even your trainer doesn’t pick up on, only you?

My brain shuts off just for a moment after a fence if it concerned me or scared me approaching it. Its like it needs to reset. Its only a moment and I can complete courses just fine. Odd… but getting better.

47798_768031356905_7153924_n6. What is the biggest doubt/insecurity you ask or tell yourself in your head?

That I’m stuck. That money or time or whatever is going to keep me from my goals forever no matter what I do.

7. There is a barn fire. You are the first person to discover it and see that the roof is collapsing in slowly, and you can tell it’s going to come down any time. Do you call people first or head straight in to save the horses?

Truthfully I think I would just head straight in hoping someone else sees the flames and calls. If the roof is going to collapse why waste the time calling. Get those ponies out!

8. What is one event in your riding career/horse/anything that you’re still not over, even though you might tell others you are?

Charlie’s death. That was pretty horrific Blog Hop- Who is your Heart Horse? You can read a little about it there. I will never forget that day. Or him for that matter.

gallop copy 29. If you could tell off one person you just don’t like, what would you say?

Naw. Doesn’t really seem worth it. I’m kinda of the school of what goes around comes around so telling someone off seems dumb. Just wait for the bus to come back around 🙂

10. Have you ever seen questionable riding or training practices, but let it go/ignored it? How do you feel about it in hindsight?

I have. A lot. This is a hard one. As long as the horse isn’t being injured I feel you have to let it go. Everyone has their own way of doing things and sometimes you can learn from people. The only time I’d ever make a stink would be in a horses welfare was in question and then I’d probably go to someone with more clout than me. Technical Delegate etc.

Leave a Reply

