Best things in life don’t come free

“If there’s just one piece of advice I can give you, it’s this – When there’s something you really want, fight for it, don’t give up no matter how hopeless it seems. And when you’ve lost hope, ask yourself if 10 years from now, you’re gonna wish you gave it just one more shot. Because the best things in life, they don’t come free.” – Greys Anatomy

Yes I just quoted Greys Anatomy, a show I’ve actually never watched. But I saw this quote on someone’s Instagram profile and it hit home.

SAS_0021 copy
Game faces

This last year has been the biggest struggle. And I’ve wanted to give up so many times.

There’s been times part of me honestly hoped Dancer’s injury just made him a pasture pet so we could just give up.

But I kept showing up, even when the love was lost between the two of us….

helloAnd we walked in circles…and figure 8’s…. and we used drugs….

And every time I wanted to give up I had the support of great friends who reminded me that it would all end soon and next year it would all be a memory…

And then I had to make the hard decision to move when it became too dangerous for me to go it alone…

And I could go on and on….. But if you’ve read my blog you don’t need me too…

All you need to know is…

grass thiefI LOVE MY PONY AGAIN!!!! (and I love riding again)

I’ve been struggling with this for most of rehab….

Last night I was in an awful mood. Hating on the whole world. And I went to the barn anyway. For the first time in a year….it fixed it…. Best therapy ever. I love him.

It’s taken most of a year…but after last night I can truly say I love him again. I no longer want to sell him down the river or to the highest bidding 10 year old….(or shoot him as I proclaimed in an earlier blog)

He’s mine….my dream, my goal, my other half and together we are gonna have fun!

And I will never take soundness for granted again! If your horse has never had a long term layup you will never understand…But truly the best things in life don’t come free….and are totally worth it!

8c67d-ame2band2bdancerI truly don’t care if we show or just hack around.

I’m just happy we made it to the other side…. and kept giving it another shot! 🙂

One thought on “Best things in life don’t come free

Leave a Reply

